A Light in the Dark
Author:
Series: The Fallout Series, Book 2
Genres: Coming of Age, Romance / Contemporary
Tags: contemporary, New Adult, romance, sweet romance
Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing
Publication Year: 2016
ASIN: 163422177X
ISBN: 9781634221771
With Sebastian Jeffries comes a taste of the things Tish Ransome only writes about in her music, and she can't resist the lure of the tortured artist. Sebastian, likewise, is drawn to Tish's brilliance, but like a moth that hovers too close to the flames, is he killing himself just to be near her? Can Tish save Sebastian before it's too late, or will he pull her down into the darkness with him?
Buy from Smashwords
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from Apple iBooks
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from GoodReads
About the Book

I hated Sebastian almost the first moment I saw him. But then I started to love him while I still hated him, which made things a little complicated.

Him and that guitar.

On stage, Tish Ransome sings about heartache and passion, betrayal, and about love gone wrong… but she knows very little about any of it in real life. The rock-star princess who swears like a pirate—literally—is loved and adored by family, friends, and fans alike, and her world is filled with good things, her future bright.

Behind the scenes, however, trouble is brewing. When Tom, her best friend and co-founder of the Marauders, tells her he’s leaving the band after graduation, Tish must find a new wingman to step into Tom’s hard-to-fill shoes. The moment she hears Sebastian Jeffries play, she knows he’s the one. Yet with Sebastian comes a taste of the things Tish only writes about, and she can’t resist the lure of the tortured artist. Sebastian, likewise, is drawn to Tish’s brilliance, but like a moth that hovers too close to the flames, is he killing himself just to be near her? Can Tish save Sebastian before it’s too late, or will he pull her down into the darkness with him?

NOTE: This book may contain triggers, due to the topic of domestic violence.

For fans of Amy Harmon, Colleen Hoover, and AnnaLisa Grant.

NA Content Disclosure

Reviewed by Melanie Newton
Violence
2
There are some instances of girlfriend / boyfriend / love triangle issues. Some minor violence (Slap across the face)
Language
2

There is very little bad language in this book.

Hell - as in Hell to pay, Hangover from Hell.

There are a few very minor sexual references (Such as implications that cleavage sells drinks, a couple of suggestive comments) but not strong enough in my opinion to require a higher rating.

Romance/Sensuality
2
There is a lot of flirting and some intimate moments but descriptions never go beyond some intimate kissing.
Drugs/Alcohol/Smoking
2
There are some scenes with adults drinking in the book, including scenes in a bar.

Supernatural Characters: N/A

Other: This is a New Adult romance novel.  Although technically NA due to the protagonist’s age it is definitely a “clean” romance with nothing beyond intimate kissing and would be suitable for most teenagers.

About the Author
Becky Doughty

Becky Doughty is the author of the award-winning Elderberry Croft series and the voice behind BraveHeart Audiobooks.

"I write fiction, mainly because nonfiction is hard! Yes, I've tried. Let's just say I like to color outside the lines when it comes to sticking to facts...or anything else, for that matter. I write Women's Fiction with strong elements of Romance, and Young Adult/New Adult/Coming of Age Fiction. Some of my fiction is written for the Christian Fiction or Inspirational Fiction market (and labeled as such), and some of it is written more for the General Fiction market. However, my stories are all light on language, violence, and sex, so if you're looking for a book you don't have to shove under the couch cushion when visitors stop by, you've come to the right place!"

Becky is married to her champion of more than 25 years. They have three children, two of whom are grown and starting families of their own, and they all live within a few miles of each other in Southern California. They share their lives with too many animals, a large vegetable garden, and a strange underground concrete room they're certain was built for dark and sinister purposes...

Other Books in "The Fallout Series"
Look Inside
Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."