Some memories fade, but these were stolen.

Seventeen-year-old Sienna Preston is no stranger to heartache and loss. But this time, it's different; someone—or something—has tampered with a loved one's memories, and she's determined to get answers.

Order Now!
About the Book

The epic tale of Sienna Preston continues in this second installment of the exhilarating Deception Game series.

When Sienna’s boyfriend and leader of the Fringe, Trey Winchester, wakes from a coma and doesn’t remember her, she’s devastated. When he goes on to claim he lives in the Capital, and is engaged to one of Sienna’s old rivals from school, she realizes something much more sinister is going on…something (or someone) has altered his memories. Sienna is determined to find out who has stolen their history together – and why.

The trail leads to Rubex, the Capital of Pacifica, where Trey now believes he works for the government’s Agency for Intelligence and Genetics. But when Sienna gets too close to uncovering dark Agency secrets, she is captured and experimented on – and awakens with some of her own memories missing. Fortunately Zane Ryder, the genetically modified poster boy who is still in love with her, is there to help her put the pieces back together. The two grow closer, but things get complicated when the Agency accuses Sienna of murder and hunts her down.

Sienna realizes that her heart now belongs to two boys; unfortunately, one doesn’t remember her, and the other is betrothed to his perfect genetic match. But none of that really matters now, because the only thing that awaits Sienna, is a death sentence.

Reviewed by Melanie Newton
There is a fair amount of violence in this book including people being murdered and some descriptions including torture.
There is a lot of kissing but nothing goes beyond that.
This was a difficult one to rate but there is memory altering drug use, and it is used without permission and this is drug abuse hence the rating.

Supernatural Characters: None – but there are genetically modified humans

Other: This is a YA dystopian novel and the content included is typical of the genre.  This is book 2 in the series and is of a similar rating to the first.

Series: The Deception Game, Book 2
Genres: Action & Adventure / Survival Stories, Dystopian, Science Fiction
Tags: Dystopian, future, Love Story, romance, Science Fiction, teen, young adult
Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing
Publication Year: 2017
ISBN: 9781634222389
Order Now
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook
Buy from Book Depository
Buy from Books-A-Million
Buy from GoodReads
Buy from Kobo
Buy from Smashwords
Buy from Apple Books
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Sign up for Updates
About the Author
Kristin Smith

Kristin Smith writes young adult contemporary and science fiction novels. When she’s not writing, you can find her dreaming about the beach, beating her boys at Just Dance, or belting out karaoke (from the comfort of her own home). Kristin currently resides in the middle-of-nowhere North Carolina with her husband and five incredibly loud but extremely cute boys. To read more about her obsession with YA novels or her addiction to chocolate, you can visit her at

Other Books in "The Deception Game"
Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."