The Temple Twins

The Temple twins must unite as sisters or risk losing everything—including their own hearts.

While Serenity and Sky endure Force’s relationship tests, Bliss must contend with her own struggles. She has worked to become the perfect Yin, consumed by the ghosts of an abusive childhood—ones she believes she can never conquer. But when a dangerous secret threatens the twins’ family, Serenity must become Yang and risk losing her heart—while Bliss must learn to trust hers.

Order Now!
About the Book

After Sky’s revelation, Force keeps him on lockdown, sending countless Temple girls his way—and more suitors to Serenity, only for her to rebuff them all. Her most ardent rejection is of Luc, whose heart begins to move in a different direction.

Meanwhile, Bliss is still the Temple’s Yin. She’s a beautiful shell burdened by the ghosts of an abusive childhood—ones she believes she can never conquer. Yet, Bliss has no desire for a relationship with anyone, least of all the sister who escaped. But as the days pass, she finds herself growing closer to Serenity and Serafina despite her reluctance. With swan-carved corpses continuing to drop, Bliss realizes she is starting to act—and feel—more like a sister and less like Yin.

When Bliss and Serenity discover a dangerous secret that could destroy their family, they make an oath to keep it. To hide what they’ve uncovered, Serenity must play Yang to perfection and risk losing her heart forever—while Bliss faces her own greatest challenge of opening her heart and letting love inside.

In this mesmerizing conclusion, the Temple twins must unite in what becomes a test of their strength, their commitment, and ultimately…their hearts.

THE JEWEL by Amy Ewing meets TRICKS by Ellen Hopkins in this gritty Young Adult Dystopian that tells of a fear-inducing future where the world of sex trafficking has become a social norm and where woman aren’t treated as humans and are no safer than they were than they were in THE HANDMAID’S TALE by Margaret Atwood. THE TEMPLE TWINS is book four in THE UNCAGED SERIES by Emily Shore.

Novels in THE UNCAGED SERIES by Emily Shore include:

  • THE AVIARY (Available Now)
  • THE GARDEN (April 8, 2019)
  • THE TEMPLE (April 22, 2019)
  • THE TEMPLE TWINS (May 6, 2019)
  • THE AQUARIUM (Fall 2019)
    • Additional novels in THE UNCAGED SERIES to be announced soon.

Reviewed by Melanie Newton
There is a fair amount of violence in this book, including murder which at times is fairly graphic, and the general underlying culture is all a form of abuse. There is a scene that emphasizes pedophilia tendencies and talk of abuse that has been ongoing since the age of 8.
There is mainly mild curse words used but scattered use of the word f*** and variations upped the rating to a 5. There are lots of sexual references and some uses of the word whore and one use of the word slut.
There is sex in this book though it is generally not descriptive. There is one scene that has a little more described than in previous books in this series.
The drug Bliss (which creates the feeling that the name implies) that is mentioned in a previous book, is taken by a major character. Some adults drinking.
Supernatural Characters: There are no supernatural characters in this book – but this is set in the future and there are futuristic elements such as implants in the brain tracking people – the ability to connect 2 hearts to each other, and “immortality” is available.
Other: This is a YA novel which continues the Uncaged series and deals with some of the darker themes such as sexual trafficking but in a fictionalized setting. The content is such as to be expected when dealing with themes of this nature and some trigger warnings may be required. There is mention of sexual child abuse in a child as young as 8.

Series: The Uncaged Series, Book 4
Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy/Dark Fantasy, Social Themes / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Themes / Sexual Abuse
Tags: abuse, coming of age, Dystopian, Fantasy, kidnapped, romance, sex trafficking, Speculative, Survival story, teen, urban, young adult
Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing
Publication Year: 2019
ISBN: 9781634223690
Order Now
Buy from Google Play
Buy from Apple Books
Buy from Kobo
Buy from Smashwords
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from Amazon
Sign up for Updates
About the Author
Emily Shore

Emily Shore is a MN author with a B.A. in Creative Writing from Metro State University and was a grand prize winner of #PitchtoPublication, which led her to working with professionals in the publishing industry. Her anti-trafficking books Ruby in the Rough and Ruby in the Ruins are her first indie-published books with proceeds benefiting trafficking rescue organizations. She is signed with Clean Teen Publishing for her anti-trafficking dystopian The Aviary. For every book sold, a personal donation will return to Women At Risk, International.

Throughout the years, she has connected with rescue organizations and survivors of sex-trafficking and injects the truths she's learned into her books for youth. She loves motivational speaking on the issue of sex-trafficking and always hopes for more speaking events in schools, churches, and libraries. Please contact her on her website if you are interested in hearing her speak. In her spare time, she loves attending any abolition events, baking, acrylic painting, interior decorating, and spending time with all the little girls in her life.

Emily lives in Saint Paul with her husband and two daughters. Their goal is to adopt a little girl from India.

Other Books in "The Uncaged Series"
Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."