The Dragon Swan Princess

Odette is a prisoner, and her captor’s plans for her are unthinkable. But with a magical mark on her shoulder and the survival of her people hanging in the balance—she has no choice but to comply. Drekken has come home to find he must marry a noble – but he has no desire to do so. When their paths cross, sparks fly. True love and obligation war in this epic retelling of the Swan Princess story.

Order Now!
About the Book

The Dragon Swan Princess is the second book in the Twisted Ever After series by Tamara Grantham, the award-winning author of more than a dozen books and novellas.

Odette Von Alarissa is a prisoner, her captivity the result of a decades-old war between the dragon shifters and the witches.  But there has been a recent change in her ownership.  Xaldain Von Rothbart, the traitor responsible for starting the war, is her captor now.  A dragon-shifter just like Odette, Xaldain has plans for her that are unimaginable—but with a magical mark on her shoulder that prevents her escape, and the survival of her people hanging in the balance—she has no real choice but to comply.

Drekken Von Fiddlestrum has returned to his homeland to find himself in an unhappy quandary.  To save his kingdom, he must marry a noble – yet he has no desire to do so.  When he crosses paths with Odette, he agrees to help her. But as their feelings for each other grow, it can only lead to destruction for them both.  Drekken must marry for duty, and Odette must consent to Xaldain if she wants her people to survive.  True love and obligation collide in this compelling retelling of the classic Swan Princess story.

Reviewed by Melanie Newton
There is killing in the book, and talk of previous killings and the thought that all the other dragon shifters had been murdered, but nothing overly explicit.
There is very little language wise for this book. A couple of mentions of calling someone an idiot (non-directly) and referring to things as stupid (that stupid lute). A little direct name calling such as Cad. Note they do use Goddess, rather than God but not in a blasphemous way - just an alternate deity.
Some intimate kissing but nothing more involved.
There is some drinking in this book (Wine at dinner for example) but it is set in a fantasy world. There is some mention of drunkenness - but not excessive.
Supernatural Characters: Witches. Dragon shifters, Elves, Phoenix, Unicorns, Ogres, Sand Demons
Other: This is book 2 in the Twisted Fairy Tale series and the rating is similar to the first, and as with most Fairy Tales, there is a lot of magic involved. That said this could be enjoyed as a stand alone read – no prior reading of the first book required as it follows a separate story reimagined but with some crossover of the characters.

Series: Twisted Ever After, Book 2
Genres: Fairy Tales & Folklore / Adaptations, Fairy Tales & Folklore / General, Legends, Myths, Fables / General, Wizards and Witches
Tags: Fairy Tale, Fantasy, Magic, retelling, romance
Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing
Publication Year: 2019
ISBN: 9781634223591
Order Now
Buy from Smashwords
Buy from Kobo
Buy from Google Play
Buy from GoodReads
Buy from Book Depository
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from Apple Books
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Sign up for Updates
About the Author
Tamara Grantham

Tamara Grantham is the award-winning author of more than a dozen books and novellas, including the Olive Kennedy: Fairy World MD series and the Shine novellas. Dreamthief, the first book of her Fairy World MD series, won first place for fantasy in Indiefab's Book of the Year Awards, a Rone award for best New Adult Romance of 2016, and is a #1 bestseller on Amazon with over 200 five-star reviews. She has recently signed with Clean Teen Publishing for a fairytale retelling trilogy.

Tamara holds a bachelor's degree in English. She has been a featured speaker at numerous writing conferences and a panelist at Comic Con Wizard World speaking on the topic of female leads. For her first published project, she collaborated with New York-Times bestselling author, William Bernhardt, in writing the Shine series.

Born and raised in Texas, Tamara now lives with her husband and five children in Wichita, Kansas. She rarely has any free time, but when the stars align, and she gets a moment to relax, she enjoys reading, taking nature walks, and watching every Star Wars or Star Trek movie ever made.

Other Books in "Twisted Ever After"
Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."